CROOK COUNTY ROAD AND BRIDGE

2014 ANNUAL CONTRACTOR BID OPPORTUNITY

BIDS MUST BE RECEIVED BY DECEMBER 13, 2013 AT 12:00PM IN THE ROAD & BRIDGE OFFICE
BIDS WILL BE OPENED IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE DEADLINE

BACKGROUND:

Crook County is seeking bids for hauling and construction equipment contractors for the 2014 calendar year.
The annual bidding process for hauling and construction equipment contractors is for an “As-Needed” basis as
requested by Crook County Road and Bridge. All bidders must comply with Wyoming Statutes 16-6 Article 2:
Preference for State Laborers and 16-6-203 required resident labor on public works projects. A copy of the
statute is included in this bid package.

Bidders are encouraged not to bid even dollars in an effort to decrease the likelihood of a tie. Should a tie occur
between two or more contractors, a coin toss will be scheduled between the parties to determine their rank.

Current on-highway diesel fuel price of $3.88/gal is based on the Wyoming state average provided at
http://fuelgaugereport.opisnet.com/shsavg.html. Bidders must use the $3.88 per gallon fuel price for calculating
bids. All adjustments will be based on the Wyoming state average on this website on the 25" of each month by
the Road & Bridge office. There will be no increase or decrease until the State average is $0.15 either side of
$3.88/gallon, then 1% increase/decrease for every $0.08 beyond the $0.15 threshold. Provided below is the
schedule used to determine fuel surcharges. The table shown below is ongoing: for every $0.08, another percent
will be added.

Fuel Surcharge Decrease AVERAGE Fuel Surcharge Increase
PPG Range % Decrease $3.88/gal PPG Range % Increase
$3.64-53.72 -1% $4.04-54.12 +1%
$3.55-53.63 -2% $4.13-54.21 +2%
$3.46-53.54 3% $4.22-54.30 +3%
$3.37-53.45 -4% $4.31-54.39 +4%
No decrease until below No increase until above
$3.73/gal $4.03/gal

CRITERIA:

The bid price provided shall be an hourly rate determining the rank of the contractor on the vendors list. WY
contractors will receive a 5% preference: “preference is hereby given to materials, supplies, agricultural
products, equipment, machinery and provisions produced, manufactured or grown in Wyoming, or supplied by a
resident of the state, quality being equal to articles offered by the competitors outside of the state.”
Subcontracting work is not allowed.

REQUIREMENTS FOR SUCCESSFUL BIDDERS:
All Contractors for all public works projects with Crook County must be the owner/operator of the equipment to
be used with no subcontractors allowed. Must be able to provide twenty-four (24) hours’ notice if unable to



meet agreed upon schedule. Equipment must meet minimum legal capacities as specified on the Bid Form; loads
are expected to be within % ton of legal maximum capacity.

AFTER BID AWARD:

If the first contractor is called for a project and is unable to accommodate the request, the County will call the
next lowest bidder until the need is met. Billable time begins from the address of contractor. Track tonnage or
load count each day. Ensure all equipment will meet Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) safety
standards, as well as current licensing and mohile machinery tags where applicable.

Submit invoices and tonnages (if applicable) or load counts on a monthly basis to the Road and Bridge Office by
the 25" of each month. Always bill for bid amount, any adjustments based on fuel will be made by the Road &
Bridge office.
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Questions may be directed to Morgan Ellsbury, Road and Bridge Superintendent at 307-283-1441.

Nothing contained in this bid documentation shall be construed to deprive the Board of the Crook County
Commissioners of Wyoming of the right to reject any bid, or to refuse to award a contract to the lowest bidder,
when circumstances or developments have, in the Commission’s opinion, changed the bidder’s qualification or
responsibility. Crook County reserves the right to (when practical and in emergency situations) use the vendor

closest in geographic proximity to the job to avoid longer dead hauls and mobilization. When Crook County feels
this would be necessary, the rank of the vendor on the call list will be ignored.
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RETURN BID TO:
CROOK COUNTY ROAD AND BRIDGE OFFICE IN THE COURTHOUSE

309 E. CLEVELAND STREET;

OR MAILTO: P.O. BOX 995, SUNDANCE, WY 82729.

ANY BIDS RECEIVED AFTER 12:00PM DECEMBER 13, 2013
WILL NOT BE OPENED AND WILL BE REJECTED




CROOK COUNTY ROAD AND BRIDGE CONTRACT EQUIPMENT BID FORM
For the period of January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014

FIRM:

CONTACT:

PHONE:

ADDRESS:

EMAIL:

The following documentation is attached to my bid as required. | understand that if this bid is submitted
without the required documentation that it will automatically be rejected.

E’ Per Wyoming Worker's Compensation Act (W.S. 27-14-101, et seq.), a current Certificate of Good Standing
or, if from out of state, proof of a worker’s compensation insurance policy.

[:l Certificate of liability insurance

|:] Verification of good standing with Unemployment, if applicable to the firm

Below is the hourly rate for the following equipment list for equipment and operator that my company can
provide within 24 hours of call. All of the following costs include an operator and are based on $3.88/gal fuel.

e Tractor with belly dump or side dump S
Must have the capacity to legally haul minimum 23 tons by WYDOT standards
e Tractor with belly dump with pup S
Must have the capacity to legally haul minimum 34 tons by WYDOT standards
e Tractor with equipment transport trailer S
Must have the capacity to legally haul minimum 40 tons by WYDOT standards
e End dump truck S
Must have the capacity to legally haul minimum 12 tons by WYDOT standards
e Water truck s
Must have the capacity to legally haul minimum 3,000 gal. by WYDOT standards
e Tractor with water trailer S
Must have the capacity to legally haul minimum 5,500 gal. by WYDOT standards
e Motor grader S

Requirements: 14" moldboard, rear mounted ripper, 140 to 190 Horsepower range

| acknowledge the prices submitted on this document will be valid through the 2014 Calendar year through my
signature herein:

Signature Title Date




ARTICLE 2 - PREFERENCE FOR STATE LABORERS

16-6-201.9 Short title.

This act may be cited as the "Wyoming Preference Act of 1971".

16-6-202.9 Definitions.

(a) € As used in this act:

(i) € "Laborer" means a person employed to perform unskilled
or skilled manual labor for wages in any capacity and does not
include independent contractors;

(ii) € "Resident" includes any person who is a citizen of the
United States and has resided in the state of Wyoming for at least
one (1) year immediately preceding his application for employment;

(iii) € "Wages™ means a payment of money for labor or services
according to a contract or any hourly, daily or piece-work basis;

(iv) € "This act" means W.S. 16-6-201 threugh 16-6=206.

16-6-203.9 Required resident labor on public works projects;
exception.

(a)@'Every person who is charged with the duty of construction,
reconstructing, improving, enlarging, altering or repairing any
public works project or improvement for the state or any political
subdivision, municipal corporation, or other governmental unit,
shall employ only Wyoming laborers on the project or improvement.
Every contract let by any person shall contain a provision
requiring that Wyoming labor be used except other laborers may be
used when Wyoming laborers are not available for the employment
from within the state or are not qualified to perform the work
involved. The contract shall contain a provision requiring specific
acknowledgement of the requirements of this section. A person
required to employ Wyoming laborers may employ other than Wyoming
laborers i1f:

(i) € That person informs the nearest state workforce center
of his employment needs at least eleven (11) days before work 1is
commenced; and

(11) € The state workforce center certifies that the person's
need for laborers cannot be filled from those Wyoming laborers
listed with the Wyoming department of workforce services.® The
department shall respond to a person's request for certification



within ten (10) days of the date the information is filed.

(b) € Upon request by the workforce center, the general
contractor shall provide the most recent construction schedule for
the project.

16-6-204. 9 Employees not covered by provisions.

All other employees of the contractor or subcontractor, other than
laborers as defined by this act, are not covered by this act.

16-6-205.9 Enforcement.

(a) @ The department of workforce services shall promulgate
rules and regulations required to enforce this act and is
authorized and directed to enforce this act.® For purposes of all
investigations, the department shall have the power to issue
subpoenas requiring the attendance and testimony of witnesses and
the production of any books, papers, documents or records which the
department deems relevant or material to the inquiry.

(b) ® Along with each application for payment for a contract
subject to this act, the general contractor shall provide to the
contracting entity a payroll report for all contractors and
subcontractors involved in the project in a form that is consistent
with federally certified reporting requirements and includes
residency status for each laborer.

(c) 9 This act shall not be enforced in a manner which conflicts
with any federal statutes or rules and regulations.

16-6-206.49 Failure to employ state laborers; penalty.

(a) 9 A person who willfully or intentionally fails to use
Wyoming laborers as required in this act shall be subject to a
civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) per
nonresident laborer employed per day, not to exceed a total penalty
of ten percent (10%) of the amount of the person's contract. Each
separate case of failure to employ Wyoming laborers on public works
projects constitutes a separate offense.

(b) €9 In the event a second offense occurs, the person shall be
barred from bidding on any contract subject to the provisions of
this act or submitting any request for proposal on any project
subject to the provisions of this act for one (1) year from the
date the violation is corrected.

(c) 9 Before a civil penalty is imposed under this section, the
department of workforce services shall notify the person accused of



a violation.€ The notice shall be served in accordance with the
Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure and contain:

(1)® A statement of the grounds for imposing the civil
penalty, including a citation to the statute involved;

(11) €9 A statement of the facts in support of the allegations;

(iii)® A statement informing the person of the right to a
hearing and that failure to timely request a hearing will result in
imposition of the civil penalty stated.

(d) ® A request for hearing on a proposed civil penalty shall be
in writing and shall be submitted to the department no later than
seven (7) days after receipt of the notice from the department. The
hearing shall be conducted as a contested case before a hearing
examiner of the office of administrative hearings.® The hearing
shall be no later than fifteen (15) days after receipt of the
request for hearing, unless the person subject to the proposed
civil penalty requests an extension of time for good cause shown.®
The hearing officer shall recommend a decision to the director i
the department. After hearing or upon failure of the accused to
request a hearing, the director of the department shall determine
the amount of the civil penalty to be imposed in accordance with
the limitations in this section. Judicial review, if any, shall be
from the decision of the director and in accordance with the
provisions of the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act.

(e)® A civil penalty may be recovered in an action brought by
the attorney general in the name of the state of Wyoming in any
court of appropriate jurisdiction.



